IBA Boxing relaunched world wide
(L) - New IBA President J.C. Courreges with former IBA world champion Roberto Duran

The International Boxing Association (IBA) has been relaunched worldwide by a sports group headed by the new IBA president, J.C. Courreges.

In 1991, two-time Major League Baseball all-star pitcher and Cy Young Award winner Dean Chance founded the IBA. He guided the international sanctioning body until his death in 2015.

“The IBA will carry on in the spirit and memory of former IBA president and founder, the late Dean Chance,” Courreges said. “Our mission continues to be providing professional boxers, male and female, at all stages of their respective careers, the opportunity to fight for an internationally recognized World or Regional title.”

Courreges has an extensive, invaluable background in boxing as a promoter and manger. He promoted Hall of Famer Roberto Duran, as well as former world champions Trevor Berbick, John Mugabi, Frankie Randall, John David Jackson, Tom Johnson and 1984 Olympic gold medalist Steve McCrory, among the more notables. J.C. also managed world champions Henry Akinwande, Byron Mitchell, Christophe Tiozzoe, Aaron Davis, Victor Cordova and current WBC cruiserweight world champion and IBA titlist, Mairis Briedis.

“IBA President J.C. Courreges is no stranger to the world of big-time professional boxing,” IBA Vice President Jean Philippe Lustyk noted. “He managed several top-level fighters to significant World Championships. J.C. also promoted several events involving World Champion Roberto ‘Hands of Stone’ Duran. Needless-to-say, IBA President J.C. Courreges’ experience in the world of combat sports is second to none.”

The long, prestigious list of IBA world champions during the past quarter-century includes Hall of Famers Oscar de la Hoya, George Foreman, Roberto Duran and Arturo Gatti. As well as stars such as Roy Jones, Jr., Bernard Hopkins, Shane Mosely, James Toney, Mikkel Kessler, Eric Morales, Diego Corrales, Jose Luis Castillo, Glen Johnson and Antonio Tarver.

Arturo Gatti former IBA World Champion
The late Arturo Gatti pictured here when he was IBA World Champion

The IBA was also a pioneer in terms of giving deserved recognition to women’s boxing, represented by former IBA world champions Laila Ali, Mia St. John and Holly Holm.

International Boxing Association

Based in Ventnor City, New Jersey, the IBA also has an office in Florida. The IBA is establishing international representatives around the world in Germany, Romania, Bulgaria, Australia, Canada and South Africa.

The following championships are sanctioned by the IBA: World, Continental, Americas and Latino. As well South Pacific, Caribbean, European, African and Asian regional titles.

In addition to Latvia-native Breidis (22-0, 18 KOs), current IBA champions include IBA Light Heavyweight World Champion Denis Liebau (22-1, 20 KOs) and IBA Continental cruiserweight Sotorios Georgikeas (17-1, 15 KOs). Both representing Germany.

IBA Executive Committee members are J.C. Courreges, President; Stephane Cabrera, Vice President, Lustyk, Vice President; and Bruno Wartelle, Ratings Chairman. Klaus Hagemann and Steve Smoger are Co-Chairmen of the IBA Officials Committee.

“The IBA has been and will continue to be a sanctioning body that grants opportunity to fighters at all levels of experience to compete in championship bouts.” Wartelle explained. “Young, rising and qualified fighters can participate in IBA Regional title bouts, while veteran fighters with appropriate records and qualifications may compete on the world title level. Any qualified fighter from anywhere in the world can fight for an IBA title. The IBA is an equal opportunity sanctioning body.”

Steve Smoger appointed IBA Officials Committee co-chair
Hall of Fame referee Steve Smoger holding IBA world title belt with interested fighters

IBA Information

Mail: 8 South Cambridge Avenue
Ventnor City, New Jersey 08406-2713
Phone (US): 609-823-8800
International: +1 609-823-8800

Facebook and Instagram: IBABoxing