About IBA

International Boxing Association (IBA) sanctions professional boxing matches and awards world and subordinate championships.

The IBA was founded in the 1990s by Dean Chance, a former Major League Baseball pitcher.

While successful since its formation, the IBA’s World championship is widely considered to be a “stepping stone” title – one which up and coming boxers win on their way to gaining the opportunity to fight for a more prestigious organization’s championship title, but has gained some acclaim by its titles being held by many notable boxers.

The IBA became a pioneer among sanctioning organizations in the early 2000s when it began recognizing women’s champions at the world level.

In June 2017 an internationally known and respected sports group, under the leadership of Jean-Christophe Courreges has relaunched the International Boxing Association (IBA).

The long list of the notable IBA title holders includes Oscar De La Hoya, Arturo Gatti (pictured), Bernard Hopkins, Oliver McCall, Calvin Brock, Mike Weaver, Sugar Shane Mosley, Beibut Shumenov, Roy Jones Jr., Fernando Vargas, Antonio Tarver, Roberto Duran, Glen Johnson, Laila Ali, Mia St. John, Holly Holm, Teresa Perozzi, Mairis Briedis, among others.